Friday, February 23, 2024

A Wartime Welcome from the Foyles Bookshop Girls





Ellen was the oldest.  She took the responsibility of the house after her mother died.  She wanted to get a job but her father was strict and forbid her from looking.  Until one day it became a necessity for her to earn an income.

A wonderful story of Ellen and her experiences in the workplace. She worked part-time at two jobs. She was employed at the newspaper and at a bookstore she frequented often since she was a child.    She loved what she was doing especially at Foyle's Bookshop.  The friendships she made and the support they gave her at Foyle's was much more than she ever imagined.

Ellen was on a mission to prove her father was innocent of any wrongdoing after he was arrested for being a spy.  With the help of her family and friends she made at the store and at the newspaper, she set out to discover who was the "real" spy.  

I enjoyed the book and became fond of Ellen and her family.  She learned that asking for help is not a weakness. 

I received this book to review from Boldwood Books.

#blogtour

##rararesources 

A Wartime Welcome from the Foyles Bookshop Girls

London, 1918: the world is being torn apart by war, but for the girls of London’s Foyles bookshop, where there is friendship, there is hope… Perfect for fans of Rosie Clarke and Elaine Everest.

Ellen Beckford and her sister Mary are living under their father’s shadow. Before their beloved mother died, they had dreamed of bright futures, but torn apart by grief, Harold Beckford barely lets his daughters out of his sight. Then Harold is injured during a break-in at his office at London’s docklands, and can no longer work. And with prices rising and food scarce, Ellen has no choice but to defy her father’s rules and seek employment. She finds a position at London’s renowned Foyles bookshop, and the other shop girls quickly take her under their wing.

But there are dark times ahead. Ellen’s father is accused of gathering intelligence from the docklands for the enemy, and the police seem determined to see him shot for spying. With the help of her new friends, can Ellen clear her father’s name and save her family from destitution?

Purchase Link

https://mybook.to/bookshopgirlssocial

Author Bio – 

Elaine Roberts is the bestselling author of historical sagas set in London during the First World War. Previously published by Aria, she is bringing her successful Foyles Girls titles to Boldwood who will publish the fourth in this series in February 2024.

Social Media Links –  

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ElaineRobertsAuthor/

Twitter https://twitter.com/RobertsElaine11

Bookbub profile: Elaine Roberts Books - BookBub




No comments:

Post a Comment

Springtime in Surrey

  I'm sitting here in dreary February reading an anthology about Spring.  Spring can't come any faster for me in cold Michigan.  Thi...